On Being A Vegetarian

Vegan Pyramid

I’m a vegetarian for a variety of reasons, health, high blood pleasure, my family’s history of heart disease, disgusting antibiotics and steroids that are pumped into animals when they’re being farmed, and the resulting complications of becoming immune to medicine are all there, but one of the primary reasons for me is animal right and not wanting to put myself above other living creatures on the hypothetical food chain when it’s absolutely not necessary.

I’m not a vegan. I don’t have an issue with people thinking that I am, and I fully support the politics of their movement. I whole heartedly agree, in fact. But I don’t feel like I can claim the vegan lifestyle when I will still eat a cake or some chocolate or something. I’m sort of split on the cheese, eggs, and milk thing as it doesn’t involve the death of animal because that’s where my problem mainly lies. I am, however, making it a point to cut back on cheeses, and I’m allergic to eggs, so I don’t really eat a lot of egg related products, anyway. Either way, I do see myself becoming vegan by the end of the year, and a big part of that is what you wear.

I’ve been making it a point to never, ever buy anymore clothing that has animal products involved in the process of creating the clothes since I decided to go vegetarian. That’s something that is crucial to me as the fashion industry lives off of many dead animals for absolutely no reason, at all. I have a pair of vegan Doc Martens that my wife gave me last year, and I’m making sure to buy a belt this pay cycle from AlternativeOutfitters.com. Honestly, that’s one of the hardest things to find. A nice belt that doesn’t involve animal slaughter. Coincidentally, it’s less expensive compared to leather belts that I’ve in my search. Think about that, if you have the option, which you do, to buy an item that doesn’t come from a dead animal at the same price or less, why wouldn’t you make the decision to buy vegan? It doesn’t make sense to me, it really doesn’t. The vegan Doc Martens I have are approximately the same price as any of their other boots. They’re nice, they look cool, and nothing died to produce them. Why wouldn’t you choose that route?

Is it a convenience thing? If it is, I sort of understand that, but think about it this way.. if the purchaser shows a conscience and decides to go the caring way, that forces the hand of the supplier to offer more vegan options. In all actuality, if everyone did this, it could make a huge difference in the animal rights issue. That’s why I’m doing this. One person can’t really make a change, but a whole lot of people doing the right thing? That changes everything. Even if you are a carnivore and believe that your body needs the protein from animals for sustenance, why wouldn’t you go the vegan route when dressing yourself? I honestly can’t understand why anyone would think dressing themselves in leather or fur would be an optimal choice.

Anyway, I’m just talking here. Hopefully you guys can understand this and think. I’m not the best resource, by any means, but hopefully in your path, you’ll look further into these options.

Leave a Reply

